I was thinking this morning about life as a Christian and how it is meant to progress.

I think that we are born sinful, and the depths of our depravity only get worse until salvation. Then I think we should gradually be growing more in holiness, with the help of the Holy Spirit. But we will never reach holiness until we die and are resurrected with Christ.

So that would look something like this:

But a lot of the time it feels more like this:

Often it feels like I’m going down instead of up. Why is this? Is the Holy Spirit ineffective?

I don’t think so. I think that the graph above signifies the struggle between flesh and spirit – the ongoing battle of the Christian life. I guess the determining factor would be that it’s an upward trend, moving towards holiness rather than away from it.

