As Blake has been reminding me of my lack of posting, I decided that it was probably time for an update and for me to get back into writing regularly.

So here I am.

“Home” for Christmas.

He he he.

Anyway…

Personal Catch-up

Let’s see… the last time I posted was October 18. A lot has happened since then.

I was probably distracted from writing by the impending doom of essay deadlines. I got a good head start on my essays though, which meant I was comfortably working right up until they were due. And I didn’t suffer any suffered a little bit of stress.

I finished my first year of uni in one piece. I must say, it was actually quite enjoyable.

I feel like I’ve learned lots. Lots about how to “do” uni, how to make friends (and how not to), how to be committed to uni clubs, how to get the most out of my spare time.

I’ve also just finished 2 weeks of work experience at the local paper. I am so thankful that I’ve had the opportunity to learn so much and really see what it’s like to be a working journo. I was kind of thrown in the deep end, made to write stories by myself from about day 2, but it worked out well. It’s actually quite different to doing journalism assignments at uni, but it’s better, I think. For one thing, you do about 4-5 stories a day, so there’s not so much time to dwell on the good or bad details. You just have to do it. Secondly, you leave the work at work. Well, that’s not entirely true. I did do one Saturday interview, because my contact worked during the week. But what I mean is, in contrast with uni assignments (which take more time than they’re worth), stories generally don’t follow you home.

Blake and I have been apart (geographically) for about 2 weeks now. And he’s about to go to Luxembourg. I miss him, but things are going well.

Being home, I miss all my friends in Sydney. But I am enjoying time with the family (well, not always :P).

It’s so close to Christmas!

I am really excited about watching my family open their presents from me on Christmas morning. I bought them all things I know they’ll love this year. I really do like the giving part better than the giving. Can’t wait til I have kids to buy presents for. (Actually, I can wait, but you know what I mean)

Christmas Reflections

There’s a bit I’ve been thinking about in the lead up to this Christmas. And it’s significantly deeper than the usual (selfish) “I wonder what everyone has bought me?”.

I guess one thing I’ve become more aware of is that some people will be feeling really lonely this Christmas.

I know that this will be my Nanna’s first Christmas without Pa. She’ll be surrounded by family on Christmas day, but she’ll still be hurting.

There’s different reasons for different people, but I think Christmas has a way of highlighting loneliness, because everywhere you look, it seems like Christmas is about family and spending time with loved ones.

I think the family thing is a nice little cliche that our culture has invented to get around talking about the real meaning of Christmas. But it really doesn’t cut it when you think about the first Christmas.

I feel almost like a child again as I rediscover the wonder of Christmas.

The reason we celebrate is this: God (almighty, holy, limitless, perfect) takes on human form.

As a journalist, my first question is ‘why?’

Why would God send his very Son (his very Self) into earth, a pit of sin and filth, so far from the perfect world he had created?

What in the world could motivate Him to such a… preposterous action?

God in human flesh?

Who could ever invent something so wild?

Or could it be true?

When I ask myself why He would do such a thing, the first thing that comes to mind is “because he said he would”.

Over 500 years before Jesus was born, in fact.

This is what the prophet Isaiah wrote, as he was directed by God:

Therefore the Lord himself will give you a sign: The virgin will be with child and will give birth to a son, and will call him Immanuel.  – Isaiah 7:14

In case you hadn’t heard, Immanuel means “God with us”.

Okay, so God came to earth in human form because he promised he would half a millenium earlier, and God keeps his promises.

But why would be promise such a thing in the first place?

I’ll get to that later…

