I go through times when everything is going well. I’ve finished my ‘to do’ list. Poured my heart out to a friend. Cleaned my room. Made a fabulous necklace. Written a song or a poem. Put on a load of washing. Just received a great mark on an essay. Read an inspiring magazine article.

These are the times when I feel successful and powerful. I feel like I could take on the world, and still have time for coffee.

However, in the midst of these moments, thoughts of inadequacy seep into my mind. I start to believe the lies:

“I’m just a girl, he wouldn’t listen to me.”

“No one really cares what I think anyway.”

“I don’t really know what I’m talking about.”

“God can find much better people to do this.”

It’s so easy to think that I will never make a difference in the world because I am too selfish, too jealous, too bitter, too whatever.

But the words of God in the Bible paint a different picture.

“…for it is God who works in you to will and to act according to his good purpose.” (Phillipians 2:13)

“But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” (2 Corinthians 12:9-10)

“…do not worry about what to say or how to say it. At that time you will be given what to say, for it will not be you speaking, but the Spirit of your Father speaking through you.” (Matthew 10:19b-20)

So while it is tempting to shy away from tasks or callings because I don’t feel adequate, I choose to believe God’s promises. I choose to believe that, even though I am a sinner and I frequently mess up, God will use me to do amazing things in this world.

