See the stone set in your eyes
See the thorn twist in your side
I wait for you

Sleight of hand and twist of fate
On a bed of nails she makes me wait
And I wait without you

With or without you
With or without you

Through the storm we reach the shore
You give it all but I want more
And Im waiting for you

With or without you
With or without you
I cant live
With or without you

And you give yourself away
And you give yourself away
And you give
And you give
And you give yourself away

My hands are tied
My body bruised, shes got me with
Nothing to win and
Nothing left to lose

And you give yourself away
And you give yourself away
And you give
And you give
And you give yourself away

With or without you
With or without you
I cant live
With or without you

– ‘With or Without You’, U2

 

I bought a new CD a few days ago. It’s called In The Name Of Love and it’s a collection of artists who have redone some U2 songs. I particularly like the cover version of this song, which is done in a RnB kind of style.

This evening I sat in my car beside the river, and listened to the words of this song as I watched the sun set. The clouds turned back to grey and the sky was a soft yellow colour across the horizon.

Something about the words resonated with me. I wanted to hear them again and again.

This song is about divorce, not an issue I’ve had close contact with, so why does it make me feel so deeply?

What, amidst the heartache and anguish, do I enjoy?

 

I had a similiar experience earlier this year. A particular CD reminded me of a painful situation involving a guy. I went through a stage, months later, of listening to the songs over and over again. I let the memories sink in; allowed the hurt to grip me once more.

I think I was looking for what I did wrong. I knew I couldn’t go back and change anything, but I was searching for meaning…. trying to make sense of past pain.

I think I just enjoyed the depth of emotion and allowing myself to surrender to it. Normally I’m not one to give credit to emotions and feelings.

I guess I felt safe knowing that I couldn’t change anything. What was done was in the past, so I couldn’t be hurt in any new way. I was allowed to experience it in the safety of my mind.

Its amazing how music has such power to evoke feelings.

Perhaps this is what I was feeling this evening in my car. I could feel the pain of the lyrics without actually being there; without being damaged.

 

Okay, so I know that all sounds a bit weird. I’m not a masochist. I don’t like to inflict pain on myself.

I allow music to move me, if it has the power to do so.

Have you experienced the emotional power of music?

 

