I guess an appropriate way to start blogging would be to explain my blog title.

It refers to Isaiah 40, my most dearly loved passage in the Old Testament of the Bible.

Isaiah was a prophet, and this passage is the part where God tells his people that he is going to save them.

It begins, “Comfort, comfort my people, says your God.”

God is fulfilling his promise to his people. I love the imagery used to show the enduring power of God’s word, compared to humans and our power.

“All men are like grass,
       and all their glory is like the flowers of the field.

 The grass withers and the flowers fall,
       because the breath of the LORD blows on them.
       Surely the people are grass.

 The grass withers and the flowers fall,
       but the word of our God stands forever.”

 I am but a flower of the field, here for a short time. I want to use that time to show those around me the love of God.

